REC transfers anew to DOT

The committee that governs ecotourism development in the region has been turned over again to the Department of Tourism (DOT).

In his message during the turn-over ceremony on March 11, this year at the DENR Narra Hall, Regional Ecotourism Committee (REC) outgoing Chairperson and Regional Executive Director Benjamin T. Tumaliuan said that the 400 hectares of plantation to be established under the National Greening Program (NGP) by the Kalahan Educational Foundation in Sta. Fe, Nueva Vizcaya is a potential ecotourism destination.

He also mentioned about the development of the Capisaan Caves in Kasibu which is being pushed by Gov. Ruth R. Padilla.

“This is it . . . another great responsibility,” said incoming Chairperson Blessida G. Diwa as she formally received the turned over documents. She also expressed her gratitude to RED Tumaliuan for his three years of leading the REC.

Dr. Mina Labugen, In-Charge of Protected Areas, Wildlife and Coastal Zone Management Sector presented the REC’s accomplishments under the leadership of RED Tumaliuan.

She emphasized in her report the publication of Cagayan Valley Region Ecotourism Destinations Magazine; field exposure in ecotourism development; compilation and mapping of priority ecotourism sites in the region; preparation of ecotourism business plans for Fuyot Spring National Park, Peñablanca Protected Landscape and Seascape and Palaui Island Protected Landscape and Seascape; participation in the Capability Building Training, National Tourism Development Planning and World Ecotourism Conference; and conduct of the Ecotourism Assessment and Strategic Planning Workshop.

As provided for by Executive Order No. 111, the REC is mandated to: review, evaluate, approve and monitor minor ecotourism projects in the regions; implement policies, guidelines, programs; projects and activities formulated by the National Ecotourism Development Council; identify network of ecotourism sites in the region; and recommend plans and programs for ecotourism.

The REC chairmanship is rotated every three years between the DENR and the DOT. #PMSA